The Life, in a Day

There is a certain appeal to life on the road. I can see why people have written so many songs about it.

I begin every day waking up in a new place. I can usually find coffee and food somewhere. If I wake up in the RV, it’s in the cabinet next to the door. If I’m in a hotel, it’s probably down the hall. After breakfast, I put on some running clothes, and join Augustus, Lawrence, and Jean Paul in the RV. We drive to the place we stopped the day before – marked with a ribbon that you may have seen in my highlight videos. Then one of the runners starts us off while Jean Paul drives the other two behind. I still haven’t taken the first running shift. I might at some point if I can get the right breakfast for it, which is donuts.

While the other two run, I alternate between taking pictures or video and contemplating my navel. I’ll post a picture here and there, check social media (one part of my routine that, quite honestly, I’ll be happy to leave behind when I get home), and make myself comfortable. When it’s my turn to run, it’s actually one of the few times I get to be alone. Once you leave Gander, you see, and travel west, there isn’t much going on in Newfoundland, so there are more “RV nights” in weeks 2 and 3 than there were in week 1. Since it’s too cold to hang around much outside, we’re pretty much in the RV except when we run. Fortunately, Augustus, Lawrence, and I can keep ourselves entertained pretty easily with our electronic devices. Jean Paul, who is a pilot, is reading through one heck of a pilot’s manual.

Tonight, we reheated leftover spaghetti and shared a small pizza. We’re parked in a small pull-off area on the shoulder of the Trans Canada Highway, about 25 feet (sorry, 8 meters) from the road. There is absolutely no internet access here, which is nice. I’ll probably read some more, work on today’s highlights video, and then go to bed at around 10. Then we’ll start again in the morning.

Not a bad way to pass the time, really. A little running, a little reading, some Doritos… Of course, it helps that it’s on someone else’s dime. The real reason we’re doing this is in support of the Canadian AIDS Society, and I think where the relay passes through more populated areas, they’re going to be very successful with fundraising. But while we are pretty successful with the roadside donations, you don’t have to drive up to Newfoundland to donate. Canadians can text “relay” to 45678 to donate $5, and anyone can give on the relay website. I’ve set up a fundraising page too, and you should totally use it.

I want to thank Dawn for being my first donor! You rock Dawn! Let’s get some straws soon! You can remain anonymous in your donation, of course, but expect public thanks if you don’t!

About Carey Ahr

I run a lot. When I'm not running, I'm grumbling about how much my legs hurt.
This entry was posted in running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Life, in a Day

  1. Michael Ahr says:

    So THAT’S what those ribbons are! I had wondered.

    Like

Leave a comment